Concentration Requirements

The concentration in Justice and Law Studies consists of six courses: the introductory course (101), any four electives, and the senior seminar (401).  Some courses are listed as JLST electives in the “Courses” link, but the list is not exhaustive.  Students who have taken or are considering taking any course with a substantial law and/or justice component may ask the program chair whether it qualifies as a JLST elective.  These may include courses taken while studying abroad.

To declare the concentration, fill out the Concentration Declaration Form available in the Registrar’s office. You need to have the program chair sign it, then return it to the Registrar.  This can be done at any time, not just during major declaration season in the spring of sophomore year.